Student Prizes


John McPhee (Law) & Max Charlesworth (Bioethics) Prizes

Conditions of entry
An essay by a University student that addresses

  1. The John McPhee prize in health, law and ethics: a topic related to health, law and ethics
  2. The Max Charlesworth prize in bioethics: ethical issues arising in relation to medicine, the health sciences or health care in general from any of the disciplines that offer a perspective on such issues, including philosophy, bioethics, law, social theory, sociology, anthropology, psychology, feminism, linguistics, cultural studies, history, literary theory and literature


Not exceed 5000 words

Submission or conformity requirements on the paper or essay
Essay should conform to the requirements for submission to the Journal of Bioethical Inquiry (refer and submitted as a word document attachment to the conference organisers by 18th July 2014.

Date of submission
Friday 18 July 2014 (by COB). Email

Selection panel
Two persons nominated by the AABHL committee and two members of the editorial board of the Journal of Bioethical Inquiry

Criteria for assessment
The John McPhee prize in health, law and ethics: Scholarship in health, law and ethics; exploration of the interface between health, law and ethics; ability to communicate; originality.
The Max Charlesworth prize in bioethics: Evidence of academic scholarship; familiarity with the chosen area; rigour in presentation; originality

The winner[s] will be invited to present their paper at this year's conference. Complimentary registration fees at the conference will be provided; assistance to travel to the conference may also be provided but this will be considered on a year-to-year basis. The prize will also provide one year’s subscription to AABHL membership. The winner[s] should submit the winning essay to the Journal of Bioethical Inquiry for consideration for publication through the online manuscript submission system at Mention should be made in the covering letter that the paper has been awarded the John McPhee or Max Charlesworth award, which ever applies.


The Pannetta McGrath Student Oral Presentation Prize

Eligibility Criteria
All abstracts for oral presentations accepted in the Student Oral Presentation category

Criteria for assessment
The oral presentations will be assessed on the following criteria:

Content and analysis

  • Subject knowledge - demonstration of a thorough knowledge of the subject matter and confident responses to questions
  • Critical analysis, argument and original content - provides insightful, sophisticated and original analysis


Presentation Skills

  • Organisation - information is presented in a logical and interesting order
  • Engagement - use of a clear voice, maintenance of eye contact with the audience and appropriate interaction with the audience
  • Graphics - appropriate use of graphics and professional presentation.
  • Timing - presentation starts and finishes on time with plenty of time for questions.


The winner will receive a prize of $300


Important Dates

Abstracts Due 30 May 2014
Abstract Notifications Late June 2014
Presenter Registration 7 July 2014
Student Essays Due 18 July 2014
Early-Bird Closes 15 August 2014
Conference 2 Oct 2014

Organising Committee

Judy Allen
Stephen Honeybul
Felicity Flack
Camilla Scanlan

Committee Members
Brian Stafford
Dale Pugh

Stream Leaders
Wendy Rogers
Ainsley Newson
Bill Madden
Andrew Crowden
Katrina Bramstedt
Karolyn White